My Next Eighteen Months Are Critical!

Steven Barnes
2 min readDec 9, 2022

I am in the early stages of analyzing what I’d need to have fun in Manila 2024 at the Filipino Martial Arts conference. I was robbed of his once-in-a-lifetime experience by Covid in 2020, and more or less concluded my window had passed. But now, with about 16 months until the event, I’m seriously thinking that it might be SMART for me to plan to go.

  1. Big goals are motivating.
  2. I’ll have to raise my energy, which is useful in EVERY arena of life, so long as it flows in the right direction and with the right rhythm.
  3. I can see how it would help my personal life, my physical life, and my financial life

So the question is one of basics, the balance between the Morning Ritual and the Five Minute Miracle

What might the basic program be? The minimum?

Well…the minimum might be Firedance Tai Chi in the morning for health, basic fitness, and body-mind connection, goals and role models of excellence, emotional flooding for confidence and gratitude.

Then the “Five Minute Miracle” is the Five Tibetans, distributed through the day. “Advanced Tibetans” uses the Legendary Abs program instead of “Leg Raises” for the second exercise. This advances the abdominal effect, giving me one fitness focus of seriously high value, but the “Hanging Leg Lifts” and “Hanging Knee-ups” also work the pulling muscles and grip. Substitute Hindu Pushups for Tibetan #5, “Upward-Downward Dog”. This works upper body strength.

--

--

Steven Barnes

Steven Barnes is a NY Times bestselling author, ecstatic husband and father, and holder of black belts in three martial arts. www.lifewritingpodcast.com.