The Challenge of a Lifetime Is Here!

Steven Barnes
4 min readJan 17, 2023

OH. Damn. I DON’T have two weeks to get ready for this specific amazing challenge. It starts next MONDAY. Ouch. I heard that and felt a bubble of panic surface. Then…it settled. I’m ready for this.

But…at the same time I’m being asked to step up in a very specific way in the BKF. And it triggers old anxieties.

And at the same time, Jason is in Endgame in terms of his childhood. Just the step of learning to focus his energy, heart and mind to create goods and services he can exchange with the community for sufficient resources. Sufficient to what? To attract a mate he can relish and respect. That means he needs the resources to raise and protect a family EVEN IF THEY DON’T WANT KIDS.

To help him there, I need one more push, rise one more level of energetic clarity, so that I can say “follow me.”

There is a knot of fear here. Why? Because my ego cannot survive this fire. To succeed at ALL THREE SIMULTANEOUSLY, I must actually BE that guy. I have to rise up another level. My current self-image is pretty healthy, but this, balancing all three, is one of the greatest challenges of my life.

Fear. Fear of change, and ego-death. Of stepping into an energetic space that represents everything I’ve ever wanted in life. Adult version.

Untie this “knot” and I am through the door.

What strategies and tactics should I use? Let me focus on one of them every day. I’m gonna need ALL my skills online, I kid you…

--

--

Steven Barnes

Steven Barnes is a NY Times bestselling author, ecstatic husband and father, and holder of black belts in three martial arts. www.lifewritingpodcast.com.